Autumnal August

Today was the first dry day in over a week. Somehow we started autumn early here in the South of Scotland. I know that a few will say “Well, it is Scotland you should expect rain” but I still think we had an unusually wet summer so far. Interrupted by the occasional sunny even hot  days but still I felt the first bout of autumn melancholy as early as June. Although the following pictures still show typical summer colours (there’s nothing quite like purple heather covered hills) but I think you can still feel the crisp air just by looking at this blue sky. And crisp it is, believe me. It cannot be more than a few degrees celsius above 0 during the night (my guess is ca 5 degrees). I don’t mind the temperatures and I wouldn’t mind an early autumn but please, please a little less rain.

 

Leave a Reply

