My Favourite May Poem

I thought I share my favourite May poem with you. It’s taken from Heinrich Heine’s Buch der Lieder, Lyrisches Intermezzo I. Heinrich Heine was born 13.12.1797 as Harry Heine in beautiful Düsseldorf. Known as the last poet of Romanticism he was famous for his poems, travel and essay writings. His thoughtful observations of the 1830 and 1848/49 revolutions are highly recommended. He died after many years of sickness on 17.02.1856 in Paris where you can visit his grave in Montmatre.

Im wunderschönen Monat Mai,
Als alle Knospen sprangen,
Da ist in meinem Herzen
Die Liebe aufgegangen.

Im wunderschönen Monat Mai,
Als alle Vögel sangen,
Da hab ich ihr gestanden
Mein Sehnen und Verlangen.

Translation, not perfect but close:

In the beautiful month of May,
as all the flower-buds burst,
then in my heart
love arose.

In the beautiful month of May,
as all the birds were singing,
I confessed to her
my yearning and desire.

Leave a Reply

