Dreams & Aspirations

Do not lose hold of your dreams or aspirations. For if you do, you may still exist but you have ceased to live.

Let us talk about New Year’s Resolutions. What is it about New Years that makes us do all those stupid lists and promises for the next year, which we, in all honesty, never or seldom ever follow through? Here we are, New Year’s Eve or Hogmanay (as the Scots call it), at our desks writing resolutions lists. Although, in all fairness, I only do them every other year as I always need at least one year to get over the disappointment I feel for not sticking to anything on that list.

So this year, after a strangely almost balanced year of failures and successes, I will be spending a fair amount of my New Year’s Eve day 😉 making plans and lists for the coming year. At least for the first 3 months of it and in addition, I will write down some of the things I am hoping to achieve by the end of 2016.

Maybe I am just stupid or maybe I don’t want to lose hold of my dreams and aspirations. Because that, I think, is the reason why so many people today will be making plans for the next year, will be writing resolutions lists and promise themselves (or their loved ones) to change. The thing that keeps us going, keeps us alive is our constant attempt not to lose hold of our dreams and aspirations. Another word for this is HOPE. Hope of being able to be our best possible self. Hope is our O2. Our life line, what keeps our hearts pumping.

Wishing you all A Happy New Year, I will leave you with another quote by my favourite poet and writer of all time, a man who truely speaks to my soul:

Wir können wohl das Glück entbehren, aber nicht die Hoffnung.

We can probably do without happiness, but not without hope.

Quote No. 1: Henry David Thoreau 1817-1862. Picture: Mine 2015.
Quote No. 2: Theodor Storm 1817-1888. Translation: Mine.
Picture Heavy.com
Leave a Reply

